Homemade Hummus

Hummus

Hummus is one of my favorite snacks/ quick dinners, it is filling tasty and pretty healthy too. I used to always buy hummus but when I got a food processor and was browsing through Jerusalem: A Cookbook it hit me that I could of course make it my self. I happened to have some dried Chickpeas around and whipped some up that I decided to throw some roasted red peppers in and decided to never go back to buying it. Now it is one of my favorite things to make and try out different flavors.

hummus_4

My most recent batch I flavored with some fresh ground middle eastern spices and have included the recipe below.

HUMMUS

9oz Cooked Chick Peas (or 1 Can)

2Tbsp of Tahini

1Tsp Kosher Salt

1Tsp Cumin Seeds Whole

1Tsp Fenugreek Seeds Whole

1Tsp Caraway Seeds Whole

2 Tbsp Cold Water

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Food Processor

Spice Grinder or Mortar and Pestle

hummus_5

TO ASSEMBLE

In a spice grinder or Mortar and Pestle grind up all the whole spices (for a deeper flavor you can toast the seeds).

In the bowl of your food processor add the cooked chickpeas, Tahini, kosher salt, and ground spices. Pulse a few times and then add the water and turn on the food processor to the lowest setting.

Pour in a steady stream of extra virgin olive oil while the food processor is going until the hummus is looking smoother (about 2-3tsp). Turn the food processor up a speed and blend until super smooth.

Serve with a little extra olive and pepper to garnish. I love Hummus with Toasted Pita, warmed Tortilla, or a nice cracker.

Hummus

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

