Ouefs en Cocotte (Eggs in Ramekins)

Oeufs en Cocotte_08

I was inspired to make Ouefs en Cocotte ( Eggs in Ramekins) this weekend by the post on Sassy Early Grey’s blog. I absolutely love eggs for breakfast and usually make my some sort of fried egg sandwich on the weekends and mornings where I give myself more time to get ready for work. Since the eggs are cooked in a water bath it is hard to over cook them

Oeufs en Cocotte_06

QUICK AND EASY OUEFS EN COCOTTE

Serves 1

2 Eggs

2-3 Tbsp Grated Cheese ( I used Monterey Jack)

1 Tsp Heavy Cream

Salt and Pepper to taste

Any other spices you want ( I used Sumac, read about it here, which I had not used until I bought it this weekend at whole foods. I had read about it so when I saw it at WF for a reasonable price I had to get it, it has a really nice taste that is not quite like any one more spice)

Toasted Bread, Bagel, or crackers

Ramekin

Cake pan (small if cooking just one larger if cooking multiple cups)

Enough hot/ boiling water to reach 3/4 inch up the side of the ramekin(s) (Place all Ramekins in pan before adding the water)

Oeufs en Cocotte_05

TO ASSEMBLE

Preheat oven to 375F degrees

Place about 1 tbsp of the grated cheese into the bottom of the ramekin

Crack both eggs into the ramekin

Pour the cream in and then top with the rest of the grated cheese

Top with salt, pepper, and any other spices you wish

Place ramekin(s) in the cake pan and pour in hot water until it reaches 3/4″ up on the Ramekin(s) and put the pan in the oven

Cook for 8-10 minutes until the egg white is set

Serve with toast and enjoy

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Ouefs en Cocotte (Eggs in Ramekins)

  1. Anjo Angela Lim says:

    Reblogged this on Sassy Earl Grey and commented:
    My oh my, this recipe sure is a break out star on this blog! Go check Graham & Cook’s delicious take on these babies! Mmmmmm, beware, LOTS of swoon worthy egg shots. And that copious amount of bread? Ridick. #dreamysigh

  2. Anjo Angela Lim says:

    Oh YUM!!! All that bread surrounding your delicious oeufs en cocotte makes me wanna just DIG RIGHT IN! mmmmmm ❤

Leave a Reply

