On the Kale Train

Kale Chips

I have friends that love love love kale. I have never really understood the obsession, I am not really a fan of bitter things and in a salad there is something about it that I do not enjoy about it. I like though to keep healthy snacks around the apartment to eat and Kale chips are something that fit the bill. So this past weekend I decided to try out making some kale chips to see what all the hype was and if I could get into the kale thing.

While the kale chips turned out well and they were kale fanatic approved it is taking me a while to get into them. I am slowly starting to get the kale chip love and I am interested in making them with some other spices in addition to the salt next time. Only time will tell what happens with my relationship with Kale but for now I am curious and willing to try some more.

Kale Chips

KALE CHIPS

If you have seen one Kale Chip recipe you have seen pretty much all of them but regardless here is mine.

1 bunch of curly leaf kale

1-3 Tbsp Olive Oil

Salt to Taste

Any other spices

Large bowl

Parchment Paper or Silpat

Sheet Pan(s)

TO ASSEMBLE

Wash and Dry Kale, tear into larger than chip sized pieces (they will shrink while cooking when the water is evaporating) removing and discarding the rib

Pre heat oven to 350F degrees

In a large bowl mix the kale pieces and olive oil making sure that the kale is fully coated with the olive oil

On your parchment/ silpat lined Sheet Pan lay out the kale pieces single layer (per the first picture) and salt and spice to your taste

Bake for about 10-20 minutes until the kale is crispy, it is best to bake only one tray at a time even if you are using multiple pans

Let cool and serve

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

