Oat Bars: Episode Two

Oat Squares_25

Over the past few months since I made my first Snack Bars (Oat and Sesame Snack Bar) I have been obsessed with making them and tweaking my recipe every time. Making your own Granola bars is such a great alternative to the store bought ones not only are they better tasting they are way more healthy. This particular version is one of the more recent ones I have made and it was my favorite so far so I thought I would share the recipe here.

OAT, NUT, AND DATE SNACK BARS

Makes 16 1 1/2″ x 1 1/2″ squares

2 Bananas; When ripe freeze until completely frozen (overnight or longer) and then defrosted this creates a extra smooth banana paste that holds

2 Cups Rolled Oats

3 Tbsp Wheat Germ

2 Tbsp Flax Seeds

1/4 Cup Pecans Chopped

1/4 Cup Almonds Chopped

1/4 Cup Dates Chopped into small pieces

3 Tbsp Goji Berries

1/2 Tsp Vanilla

1/2 Tsp Kosher Salt

2 Tsp Agave

1 Tbsp Brown Sugar

Coconut oil for greasing the pan

6 x6 baking pan

Large Bowl

Oat Squares_23

TO ASSEMBLE

Pre heat oven to 350F degrees and grease your baking pan with the coconut oil

Mash up the banana in the bowl until it is a paste

Add in all other ingredients except for the brown sugar

Once all of the mixture is thoroughly incorporated pour out into the greased pan and pat down so it reaches the edges of the pan and is uniform in thickness.

Sprinkle the brown sugar on top of the oat squares uniformly

Place in the preheated oven for 30-45 minutes until the edges of the oatmeal squares start to brown.

Remove from the oven and let cool completely.

Turn out the bars onto a cutting board and cut into 16 1 1/2″ x 1 1/2″ pieces.

Oat Squares_24

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Oat Bars: Episode Two

  1. […] the past year I have been working on perfecting a Granola/ Oat bar recipe (Like here and here) and I think I finally managed to perfect my master recipe. I have been tweaking it a lot but I […]

Leave a Reply

