Weekend Brunch: Mushroom English Muffin

Mushroom Toast

I love breakfast foods so of course I love brunch. On weekends if I don’t have plans for brunch with friends I love making a single serving of something for my self. Today that meal was a fried egg on top of a mushroom saute served on a toasted English muffin. I was inspired by the Mushroom Toast my friends got when we were at Five Leaves a few weeks ago. I made a version of this last weekend when I was visiting family in California and I like it so much I thought I would make it again for 1 today and add ricotta to it since I had it on hand. You can easily omit the ricotta and it is still delicious, it is also especially great on toasted baguette as well.

This is something that is pretty quick and easy to make and can be easily scaled up and down depending on how many people you want to serve and can be varied endlessly. While I made a fried egg today to top my mushrooms a poached egg is also excellent because you have the muffin to soak up the runny yoke.

Mushroom Toast
MUSHROOM ENGLISH MUFFIN
Serves 1
1 English Muffin
1 Cup Mushrooms (I used sliced white button mushrooms but anything you have will do)
2 Tbsp Ricotta Cheese
1 Tbsp Butter
1 Egg
Fresh Cracked Pepper
Salt to Taste
Chiffonaded Basil for garnish
1 Large Saute Pan

TO ASSEMBLE
Toast your English Muffin, I suggest toasting it a little crisper than you normally would since they will soften up with the mushrooms and egg

Heat up your Saute pan on medium heat and add in your butter. Once the butter is hot add in the mushrooms and salt and pepper to taste.

Saute the mushrooms until soft and they start picking up some color.

Once your English Muffin is toasted and while the mushrooms are still cooking place about a Tbsp of Ricotta on each muffin and place on your plate.

Once the mushrooms are soft and have picked up some color spoon them out on top of your english muffin and ricotta.

In the same pan fry an egg to the doneness of your liking and plate on top of the mushrooms.

Sprinkle your chiffonaded basil on top and sprinkle some more salt and pepper and serve

Mushroom Toast

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Weekend Brunch: Mushroom English Muffin

  1. looks very tasty!

    here is my latest recipe post: http://helloscarlettblog.com/2013/08/09/favorite-fridays-5/.

    make sure to give me a like/follow for more deliciousness. 🙂

    ~e~

  2. […] past weekend I went full force both days on, Saturday I made the Mushroom English Muffin that I posted last weekend and on Sunday, since I had some tomato ‘sauce’ left over and […]

Leave a Reply

